Advice on Providing Advice


Original Image by GotCredit via Flickr
Original Image by GotCredit via Flickr

By: Nikki Nies

It’s funny, whenever someone finds out I’m a nutrition major, they immediately want advice.  Does that happen to you?  It’s great to see that others want to take control of their lives and seek information.  However, today I’d like to focus on those that don’t voluntarily come and seek our advice, but could benefit from some nutrition education and advice.

How do you approach them?  I’ve come to the understanding that you can’t help someone until they’re fully committed to helping themselves.  I’m currently taking a counseling class this semester, with my fellow blogger, Dana, and I love the casual atmosphere that our professor, Ms. Rose Green has provided.  We’re not only allowed, but encouraged to ask questions.  We barely have a enough time to get through the PPT provided because throughout the semester people have become comfortable asking questions that they may have otherwise held off on in other classes.

How do you suggest to approach people?  Or should you wait for them to come to you?  Within the last day, four people told me “I need to lose weight.”  I don’t want to agree with them, but I also want to help them face reality.

7 thoughts on “Advice on Providing Advice

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Many thanks, However I am having problems with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot join it. Is there anyone else having similar RSS problems? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

