What is N-U-T-R-I-T-I-O-N?


Original Image by Pink Sherbet Photography via Flickr
Original Image by Pink Sherbet Photography via Flickr

By: Nikki Nies

I’m currently taking MNT and I have to admit, the class is rubbing off on me.  Since learning the etiology and etymology of a lot of the everyday words used in the nutrition field, it has made me wonder where the word “nutrition” derives from.

Like many words in the English language, the word nutrition has a Latin origin.  The Latin root, nutrire means to suckle or feed.  In relation to the Merriam Webster dictionary’s definition of nutrition, as the “the act or process of nourishing or being nourished” I can see why one would choose the word nutrition as describing the act of nourishment.

I was intrigued, hope that explains the etymology for some as well.

Source: http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/3/2/149.full.pdf

6 thoughts on “What is N-U-T-R-I-T-I-O-N?

  1. You are so cool! I do not believe I have read something like this before. So nice to find another person with genuine thoughts on this issue. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is something that is required on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

    Like

  2. Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it doesn’t disappoint me just as much as this particular one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, however I really believed you would have something helpful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something you could possibly fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.

    Like

Leave a Reply

