Gardening’s Triumphs


Original Image by Jennifer C. via Flickr
Original Image by Jennifer C. via Flickr

By: Nikki Nies

I remember growing up eating cherry tomatoes right off the bushes.  Looking across to the other fence to see beans growing up the vine.  Instead utilizing the basketball hoop for the regular use, my parents hung tomato plants from it.

Like many, my parents enjoyed planting and tending to their garden, not only as a way to eat the freshest fruits and vegetables, but as a hobby.

Moving to GA in the fall with limited yard, they’ve resorted to planter boxes.  They still have a few tomatoes here and there, but it’s really not the same.  Also, I know by the time the tomatoes would get to IL, where I’m living now, they’d be too rotten to eat!

Anyways, my point is, I know the pride that comes from tending to one’s garden.  With the end of the summer looming, how has your season been?  What do you plan to add to your crops next year?  Did the ground hogs ruin your fun?

With controversies over GMO and organic, one really doesn’t know what happens from farm to table.  I know there’s certain regulations, but call me a cynic, but I know of way too many loopholes that could occur.  With careless minimum waged employees, what incentive do they have to abide, but such regulations?  Unless I’m there to physically see the lack of pesticides used on my products, how can I really be sure I’m getting what I paid for? I can’t be.

Ever had the itch to go grab a cucumber from your yard instead of hopping into your car to the local supermarket?  Intimidated by the many selections of mulch? I know I am, but I can’t wait for the day that I can continue tradition.  It’s such an easy, but fruitful past time.

Leave a Reply

