~Flame Up Fajitas~


By: Nikki Nies

Been craving a meal with extra kick? Grab some peppers, sriracha and chicken and you’re ready to make this fajita recipe. I’m a fan of making recipes one’s own, so please use the following recipe as guidance on the type of marinade you could make for your fajitas.

Also, you can opt to eat the fajitas in the traditional corn tortilla or make a bed of perfect rice for the peppers, onions and chicken to lie on. Whatever you choose, the blandness of the carbohydrate will pair nicely with the sriracha sprayed fajitas.

Like many of the recipes I’ve shared on this blog, my mother gave me this recipe. I remember her telling me how it easy it was to make and I concur!

Ingredients:IMG_0373

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 2 T vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 15 oz can Rotel
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 1/2 green pepper, cut into stripsIMG_8917

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400. Place chicken strips into a greased 13×9 baking dish. In a small bowl, combines oil, chili powder, cumin, garlic, oregano and salt.
  2. Drizzle spice mixture over the chicken and stir to coat. Next add the tomatoes, peppers and onions to the dish. Stir.
  3. Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes until chicken is cooked and vegetables are tender.

I happened to have some salsa on hand, so I used salsa instead of Rotel for this recipe. I wasn’t sure what the consistency of the dish would be like and/or flavors would be off, but I was pleased to see the dish didn’t miss the rotel too much.  I also had yellow and orange peppers on hand instead of red and green, but that’s a minor swap.  Lastly, I noticed I had some cheddar cheese in the fridge, so I just topped the fajitas with cheddar cheese for a quick melt on top.

The best part of this recipe is that if you bake the fajitas wrapped in aluminum foil on a baking sheet the clean up is minor! What’s your take on fajitas? How do you make them their own? Any tips on how to improve this recipe?

Leave a Reply

