No Need to Wait for New Year’s for Resolution, Make Vision Board Now!


By: Nikki Nies

Vision boards aren’t just for obtaining career objectives, but any and all personal goals too! After hearing a sermon where I was challenged to pray bold, big prayers and to dream big, I translated that into creating a vision board. Not only does this board have things I want (e.g. a tiny house), but feelings I want to always seek (e.g. cozy, warm cuddling feelings). By having my vision board on the opposite wall of my bed, I wake up to the pictures, quotes and inspiration images that I’ve pasted on there and ready to conquer the day!

8327271091_d0db10ac08_o
Original Image by Colleen Gavin via Flickr

Vision boards aren’t just for obtaining career objectives, but any and all personal goals too! After hearing a sermon where I was challenged to pray bold, big prayers and to dream big, I translated that into creating a vision board. Not only does this board have things I want (e.g. a tiny house), but feelings I want to always seek (e.g. cozy, warm cuddling feelings). By having my vision board on the opposite wall of my bed, I wake up to the pictures, quotes and inspiration images that I’ve pasted on there and ready to conquer the day!

By having a designated area of what you want to feel in life–whether it be where you want to be career wise, financially, spiritually, relationship wise, physically, emotionally and/or what your dream house is, it can be the step you need to make your dreams a reality.  Furthermore, think about what your goals are in all aspects of your life.

What’re the rules for making one? The great aspect, there aren’t any! A vision board is catered to your likes, desires and wants, but again, to be most effective, it should reflect what you want to feel in life. Material things are nice, I have pictures of tiny house on mine, but they’re also fleeting.

How does a vision board help, you ask?

  • Keep dreams, hopes and aspirations front and center with visualization of where you want to be. According to Psychology Today, many athletes have used vision boards for decades regarding desired performance.  Having visualizations all in one place can also aid in seeing the big picture and how certain goals are interrelated 
  • Keeping a reminder of inspirational and/or encouragement (e.g. notecards from loved ones) from the past in one place can be the ‘push’ you need  
  • Helps think outside of the box and challenge you to admit and discover what you REALLY want
  • Better attract future opportunities your way
  • Can be made anytime! No need to wait for New Year’s Resolution, which often times are broken in a matter of weeks! Add visions at any time too!
  • May help in overcoming obstacles to success as you may be able to see how to get from point A to B better and help establish healthier habits
  • It’s empowering by putting you in the driver’s seat of your life! Giving you back control you may have felt you relinquished previously to supervisors, other family and/or colleagues

What are must haves for your vision board? Share with us @WeDishNutrition if you’ve effectively used a vision board, what have you seen turn into a reality? 

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/elizabeth-rider/the-scientific-reason-why_b_6392274.html

https://www.counseling.org/news/blog/aca-blog/2012/06/13/why-vision-boards-work

Leave a comment