Yes, I’m Late to the Game of Overnight Oats, But I Still Made It!


25943502866_713e420772_o
Original Image by Meal Makeover Moms via Flickr

By: Nikki Nies

I’ve always shied away from eating cereal, oatmeal, pancakes, waffles and scones for breakfast as I’ve always been hungry within 15 minutes of consumption. It’s always been a struggle since these are ubiquitous, yummy breakfast options. Thankfully, I’ve found a way to add oats to my breakfast routine! The best part about overnight oats? Making them the night before means no changes to my morning routine and with a plethora of toppings and additions, I’m not afraid of getting bored!

Initially, I’ve started out with a simple, classic version of overnight oats and I haven’t deviated from that formula since it works so well!  However, as I’ve said, overnight oats can AND should be customized to your dietary needs and preferences. As always, take advantage of local, seasonal produce to ensure variety and optimal freshness.

  • Make it vegan: use plant-based milk, yogurt, and maple syrup for sweetener
  • Make it sugar-free: drop sweetener and add 1/2 mashed ripe banana
  • Make it gluten-free: use gluten-free oats

Since I’m late to the game, what’re your favorite way to make overnight oats? What made you get on the band wagon when you did? What part of this great phenomenon am I missing? Please share @WeDishNutrition!

Sources: http://wholefully.com/2016/03/07/8-classic-overnight-oats-recipes-you-should-try/

Leave a comment